This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Cookie policy
Language Official State Language of Belarus

Official State Language of Belarus

One of the official languages of our country is Belarusian. It is rich in nature, and there are even several variants of it.

We will tell about the features of the Belarusian language and its history, as well as talk about the second official language of the country.

History of the Belarusian language

In ancient times, the Praslavonic national and dialectal language was used in Belarus. In the 6th century, it was transformed into Old Russian, and in the 11th century - into Old Slavonic. Historians claim that the formation of the Belarusian language as an independent unit began in the 14th century. It was based on the sayings of several tribes: the ancient Radimich, Dregovichi, Smolensk and Polotsk Krivichi. The northerners, Yatviaks, Prussians and other Balts, also influenced the Belarusian language.

Картинки по запросу беларусь

Picture 1 Photo by visit-belarus.com

Belarusian Latin

The Belarusian Latin alphabet has been used since the 75s of the 16th century. Originally, it was built on the model of the Polish alphabet. The modern Belarusian alphabet has been in use since the first half of the 1940s and is a common Latin alphabet with the addition of č, š, ž, ć, ś, ź, ń, ŭ, Ł. Q, W and X can also be used in borrowings.

Kitabs

Kitabs - books written in Belarusian in Arabic script. The Tatars who settled in Belarus and Lithuania in the 14th-15th centuries created them in the 16th century.

The Kitabs contained texts explaining the Koran, descriptions of Muslim rituals and basic duties, statements by the Prophet Mohammed, as well as oriental fairy tales and adventure stories.

The Kitabs are read from right to left, and the text begins where it ends in Slavic books. Besides, the line in manuscripts is not divided into words; there are no punctuation marks and no words with capital letters. A new work begins with the word "bab" or "hackayet".

The manuscripts reflect the life, customs and traditions of Tatar migrants.

Tarashkevitsa

In addition to dialects, there is the so-called "Tarashkevitsa" ─ a form of spoken Belarusian language, which has a mixed morphology and word formation of the Belarusian and Russian languages. In some areas of the country, people still speak Tarashkevitsa.

Narkomovka

Narkomovka is the official version of the Belarusian language, which is studied in Belarusian schools. In 1933, a reform was carried out, which concerned only the spelling of the Belarusian language. However, it also touched upon other areas, including grammar - there appeared participles, which are not peculiar to the Belarusian language. Dictionaries have also been changed. After the reform in the Belarusian-Russian dictionaries, the Russian variant began to be put on the first place, and the Belarusian one - on the second.

After the reform, the Belarusian language has become more russified: the originally Belarusian ones, used by people before the reform, replaced some of the borrowed Russian words.

State language of Belarus

According to the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, the state languages are Russian and Belarusian. However, this has not always been the case.

The history of the Belarusian language goes through three stages. The first stage ─ the period when the Belarusian lands were located in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, when the old Belarusian language was recognized as the official language. After the unification of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania with Poland and the establishment of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1569, the old Belarusian language lost its meaning and gave way to Polish. In 1696, Polish became the official language of the Rzeczpospolita.

The second stage of the formation and development of the Belarusian language is associated with the division of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. Russian language was the official state language on the Belarusian lands at that time, but in the beginning of the 19th century the issue of the Belarusian language independence was raised.

After the October Revolution of 1917, the Belarusian language was recognized as the official state language and began to be used in official documents, court cases and educational sphere.

Картинки по запросу беларусь

Picture 2 Photo by ulej.by

Foreign languages in Belarus

Today, the school curriculum in Belarus includes a compulsory study of one foreign language.

According to the Belarusian Statistical Committee, most schools in Belarus teach English and Chinese languages. The teaching of German and French has also been spread earlier. However, this trend is decreasing and English remains the leading language.

Russian language in Belarus    

Today, the Russian language prevails in almost all spheres of life of Belarusians. Official documents are published in Russian, document circulation of companies is conducted in Russian, and it is also used by most mass media.

Polish language in Belarus

In Belarus, besides Russian and Belarusian, the languages of neighboring countries are also used: Poland, Lithuania and Ukraine.

Polish language is most widespread in the territories, which were part of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth: Grodno and Brest regions, as well as in the west of Minsk region.

Polish is not an official language, but it is used in the media and is taught in some schools. Many people in western Belarus speak Polish. The body that coordinates the development of the Polish language in Belarus is the Union of Poles of Belarus.

Popular questions on the subject

What is the national native language in Belarus?

There are two official languages in the country: Russian and Belarusian.

What language do Belarusians speak?

The population of the Republic of Belarus gives preference to the Russian language, while the minority speaks Belarusian. The Belarusian language in its pure form is used mainly in rural areas. In cities and the capital mainly the intelligentsia and patriotic part of society, use it. The Ministry of Culture also uses the Belarusian language in official documents.

How many languages is there in Belarus?

There are 5 languages in Belarus: Russian and Belarusian (main), Polish, Lithuanian and Ukrainian (less frequent).

Today, walking in the streets of Belarus, you will hear the Russian language from all sides. Foreign languages were rarely taught in the past, so adults in the majority of the country will not be able to maintain conversation even in English. However, today, English is the leading language and there are enough courses of English in Belarus. In addition, other languages are becoming popular in the country: Chinese, Arabic, Spanish, etc., as well.

Language Официальный государственный язык Беларуси

Официальный государственный язык Беларуси

Один из официальных языков нашей страны – белорусский язык. Он богат по своей природе и даже существует несколько его вариантов.

Мы расскажем про особенности белорусского языка и его историю, а также поговорим про второй государственный язык страны.

История белорусского языка

В старину на территории Беларуси использовался праславянский народно-диалектный язык. В 6 веке он трансформировался в древнерусский, а в 11 веке – в старославянский. Историки утверждают, что формирование белорусского языка как самостоятельной единицы началось с 14 века. В основу легли говоры нескольких племен: древних радимичей, дреговичей, смоленских и полоцких кривичей. Также на белорусский язык повлияли северяне, ятвяги, пруссы и другие балты.

Картинки по запросу беларусь

Изображение 1 Фото с сайта visit-belarus.com

Белорусская латинка

Белорусский латинский алфавит используется с 75 годов 16 века. Изначально он был построен по модели польской письменности. Современный белорусский алфавит применяется с первой половины 1940 годов и представляет собой обычный латинский алфавит с добавлением č, š, ž, ć, ś, ź, ń, ŭ, ł. В заимствованиях также могут использоваться Q, W и X.

Китабы

Китабы – книги, написанные на белорусском языке арабским письмом. Они были созданы в 16 веке татарами, которые поселили на территориях Беларуси и Литвы в 14-15 веках.

Китабы содержали в себе поясняющие Коран тексты, описание мусульманских ритуалов и основных обязанностей, высказывания пророка Мухаммеда, а также восточные сказки и приключенческие повести.

Китабы читаются справа налево, а текст начинается там, где в славянских книгах заканчивается. Кроме того, строка в рукописях не разделяется на слова, нет знаков препинания и слов с большой буквы. Новое произведение начинается словом «баб» или «хакайет».

В рукописях отражены быт, обычая и традиции татар-переселенцев.

Тарашкевица

Помимо диалектов, существует так называемая «тарашкевица» ─ форма разговорного белорусского языка, имеющая смешанную морфологию и словообразование белорусского и русского языков. В некоторых районах страны люди до сих пор говорят на тарашкевице.

Наркомовка

Наркомовка – официальная версия белорусского языка, которую изучают в белорусских школах. В 1933 году была проведена реформа, которая касалась только орфографии белорусского языка. Но она затронула и другие области, в том числе и грамматику – появились причастия, которые не свойственны белорусскому языку. Изменились и словари. После реформы в белорусско-русских словарях русский вариант стали ставить на первое место, а на второе – белорусский.

После реформы белорусский язык стал более русифицированным: часть заимствованных русских слов вытеснили исконно белорусские, которые люди использовали до реформы.

Государственный языки Беларуси

Согласно конституции Республики Беларусь государственными языками являются русский и белорусский. Однако так было не всегда.

История белорусского языка проходит три этапа. Первый этап ─ период нахождения белорусских земель в составе Великого княжества Литовского, когда старобелорусский язык был признан официальным языком. После объединения Великого княжества Литовского с Польшей и создания Речи Посполитой в 1569 году старобелорусский язык утратил свое значение и уступил место польскому. В 1696 году польский язык стал официальным языком Речи Посполитой.

Второй этап становления и развития белорусского языка связан с разделением Речи Посполитой. Русский язык был официальным государственным языком на белорусских землях в то время, но в начале 19 века был поднят вопрос о независимости белорусского языка.

После Октябрьской революции 1917 года белорусский язык был признан государственным языком и стал использоваться в официальных документах, судебных делах и образовательной сфере.

Картинки по запросу беларусь

Изображение 2 Фото с сайта ulej.by

Иностранные языки в Беларуси

Сегодня в школьную программу Беларуси входит обязательное изучение одного иностранного языка.

Согласно Белорусскому Статистическому Комитету, в большинстве белорусских школ преподают английский и китайские языки. Также ранее было распространено преподавание немецкого и французского языков. Однако эта тенденция идет на спад и лидирующее место остается за английским языком.

Русский язык в Беларуси                             

Сегодня русский язык преобладает практически во всех сферах жизни белорусов. На русском языке издаются официальные документы, документооборот компаний ведется на русском языке, а также его используют большинство средств массовой информации.

Польский язык в Беларуси

В Беларуси кроме русского и белорусского также используются языки стран-соседок: Польши, Литвы и Украины.

Польский язык наибольшее распространение получил на территориях, которые входили в состав Речи Посполитой: в Гродненской и Брестской областях, а также на западе минской области.

Польский язык не является официальным, но используется в СМИ и на нем преподают в некоторых школах. Многие жители западной Беларуси владеют польским языком. Орган, который координирует развитие польского языка в Беларуси является Союз поляков Беларуси.

Популярные вопросы по теме

Какой национальный родной язык в Беларуси?

В стране два официальных языка: русский и белорусский.

На каком языке говорят Белорусы?

Население Республики Беларусь отдает предпочтение русскому языку, меньшинство говорит на белорусском. Белорусский язык в чистом виде используется в основном в сельской местности. В городах и столице он используется в основном интеллигенцией и патриотически настроенной частью общества. Министерство культуры также использует белорусский язык в официальных документах.

Сколько языков в Беларуси?

В Беларуси 5 языков: русский и белорусский (основные), польский, литовский и украинский (встречаются реже).

 Сегодня, прогуливая по улицам Беларуси, со всех сторон вы будете слышать русский язык. Иностранные языки редко преподавались в прошлом, поэтому взрослое население страны в своем большинстве не сможет поддержать разговор даже на английском. Однако сегодня английский язык – ведущий и в Беларуси достаточно курсов английского языка. Кроме того, в стране становятся популярными и другие языки: китайский, арабский, испанский и тд.