This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Cookie policy
Recognition of foreign documents in Belarus

Recognition of foreign documents in Belarus

The increasing integration of economies and societies around the world leaves a trace on the functioning of legal institutions. Most countries are trying to control and manage globalization processes. Examples of this are treaties on the mutual recognition of documents, as well as the Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents (1961). The convention simplifies the procedure for the recognition of documents issued abroad. However, a few countries have not entered into such agreements or acceded to the convention, which means that a more complicated process is required to give legal force to foreign documents. Let's consider these mechanisms in more detail.

Why is the legalization of foreign documents necessary?

Not all documents issued by state authorities of one country have full legal force on the territory of all foreign states. Therefore, in many cases, when traveling abroad, as well as opening branches of a company in other countries, a whole package of certified documents is required. International legalization is a form of institutionalization, a way of giving legal force to a foreign document.

Legalization of foreign documents

In order to give legal force to the majority of documents drawn up in Belarus for their submission abroad, as well as to documents of foreign states accepted for execution in Belarus, it is not enough just to certify, sign by an official and affix a seal. There is a special procedure for obtaining legal force by them. All documents can be conditionally divided into three groups:

  • documents requiring consular legalization;
  • documents legalized by affixing an apostille;
  • documents that do not require legalization.

If the country that issued the document has entered into an agreement with Belarus on the mutual recognition of documents (for example, Russia, Ukraine), then to give the document legal force, only a notarized translation into Belarusian (Russian) is required (if it was not originally drawn up in these languages). If there is no such agreement, but the country has joined the Hague Convention on Apostille (for example, the USA, Cyprus, Lithuania, Latvia), then the document must be apostilled. If a country has not joined this convention (Canada, UAE, Iran, Iraq), then the document is subject to consular legalization.

Apostille

Apostille (from Latin “post illa”, and then French: note in the margins) is a type of higher recognition of a document, necessary for the international acceptance of foreign state documents. It does not provide information about the quality of the content of the main document, but certifies the signature (and the legitimacy of the one who put it) and the correctness of the seal / stamp on the document that must be certified. Apostille is required when using a document in another country, for example, diplomas, birth certificates, acts, extracts from registers, powers of attorney, marriage certificates, birth certificates, extracts from the commercial register, extracts from the penitentiary register, sentences, certificates and so on. However, documents of a private nature are not apostilled. Such procedure simplifies the entire process of authenticating documents for use abroad, which leads to greater convenience, lower costs and processing time for applicants, but is available only to countries that are parties to the Hague Convention. Nowadays, over 50 countries have joined it.

The convention does not contain a list of bodies authorized for apostillization. The participating countries determine them independently. In Belarus, these are three organizations: the Ministry of Justice, the Department for Archives and Records Management, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The Ministry of Justice apostilles the documents of the institutions of justice and courts, the Department for Archives and Records Management - the documents of the republican archival institutions, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs - all other documents.

The cost of affixing an apostille is 0.5 base units. The term for consideration of the appeal depends on the country of preparation of the document: if on the territory of Belarus - 1 day, and if outside the country - 5 days.

Each country that issued an apostille is obliged to keep a register, which records the date and number of each issued apostille, as well as information regarding the person or body who signed or sealed the corresponding public document. Recipients can contact the competent authority and ask if the information on the apostille matches the information in the register. Contact information for competent authorities, including telephone numbers and website information, is available in the apostille section of the Hague Conference website.

Consular legalization

If your document has been issued or will be used in a country where the Hague Apostille Convention does not apply, then the legalization process must be followed. Consular legalization confirms the authenticity of signatures of officials on documents and seals of competent state bodies, as well as the correctness of execution and compliance with national legislation of documents sent from one state and intended for presentation in any other state. International legalization is a form of institutionalization, a way of giving legal force to a foreign document. Requirements for the legalization of a document, as a rule, are in the public domain.

Consular legalization is a complex multi-stage procedure. Its purpose is to solve a practical problem: how can civil and judicial officials reliably verify the authenticity of a document issued abroad. Legalization attempts to solve this dilemma by creating a chain of authenticity verifications, each of which is carried out by an increasingly high government authority, ultimately narrowing the point of contact between countries to a single designated official (usually in the national department in charge of foreign affairs). Thus, by certifying the signature and stamp of this last official, a foreign jurisdiction can confirm the entire chain of checks to the person responsible for issuing the original document, without carefully checking each level separately.

In order to give legal force to the document, you will have to go through the following steps:

  • certify the signature of the notary and the imprint of his seal on the certification inscription on the power of attorney;
  • apply to the appropriate authority for affixing a legalization inscription;
  • confirm in the appropriate authority the authenticity of the seal and signature of the official in the legalization inscription.

Special legalization procedure established by other international agreements

Legalization of documents is not required either in cases where states have concluded bilateral treaties on legal assistance, or if they are parties to international bilateral or multilateral conventions on legal assistance, the text of which explicitly provides for the abolition of legalization of official documents for the participating countries. In this case, to use a foreign document on the territory of a participating country, it is sufficient to translate it into the language of that country and officially notarize the translation of the document by a notary (if he has sufficient knowledge of the relevant language) or the authenticity of the signature of a translator known to the notary from this language.

Translation of foreign documents into Russian or Belarusian

An official translation can be performed by a person with knowledge of the language in which the document is drawn up. The list of people authorized to do this is not limited: you can translate yourself, contact your friends, commercial agencies, the register of translators at notary offices - it is important that the translator has a supporting document. Even if a part of the document is in Russian or Belarusian, it still needs to be translated in its entirety. Under the text of the translation, the translator puts a note that he confirms the accuracy of the translation, indicates from which language and into which the document was translated, and affixes his signature. It is certified by a notary in the presence of a translator with documents confirming his qualifications. This requirement does not apply to translators from the register of notaries. If the text is translated by the notary himself, then he makes a note about the correctness of the translation.


Photo: apostille-legalizacja.pl

Этот сайт использует куки. Продолжая просматривать сайт, вы соглашаетесь на использование нами файлов cookie.

Политика cookie
Признание иностранных документов в Беларуси

Признание иностранных документов в Беларуси

Усиливающаяся интеграция экономик и обществ во всем мире накладывает отпечаток и на функционирование правовых институтов. Большинство стран пытаются контролировать глобализационные процессы и управлять ими. Примером этому служат договоры о взаимном признании документов, а также Гаагская конвенция об отмене требований легализации иностранных официальных документов (1961 г.). Конвенция упрощает процедуру признания документов, выданных за границей. Однако многие страны не заключали подобных соглашений и не присоединялись к конвенции, а значит, для придания юридической силы зарубежным документам требуется пройти более сложный процесс. Рассмотрим эти механизмы подробнее.

Для чего необходима легализация иностранных документов?

Не все документы, выдаваемые государственными органами одной страны, имеют полноправную юридическую силу на территории всех иностранных государств. Поэтому во множестве случаев при выезде за границу, а также открытии филиалов предприятия в других государствах требуется целый пакет заверенных должным образом документов. Международная легализация – это форма институционализации, способ придания иностранному документу юридической силы.

Способы легализации иностранных документов

Для придания юридической силы большинству документов, оформляющихся в Беларуси для предоставления их за границей, а также документам иностранных государств, принимающихся к исполнению в Беларуси, недостаточно просто заверить, подписать должностным лицом и проставить печать. Предусмотрен особый порядок обретения ими юридической силы. Все документы, можно условно разделить на три группы:

  • документы, требующие консульской легализации;
  • документы, легализуемые проставлением апостиля;
  • документы, не требующие легализации.

Если выдавшая документ страна заключила с Беларусью договор о взаимном признании документов (к примеру, Россия, Украина), то для придания документу юридической силы требуется лишь нотариально удостоверенный перевод на белорусский (русский) язык (если он не составлен на этих языках изначально). Если такой договор отсутствует, но страна присоединилась к Гаагской конвенции об апостиле (например, США, Кипр, Литва, Латвия), то на документе необходимо в установленном порядке проставить апостиль. Если страна к упомянутой конвенции не присоединялась (Канада, ОАЭ, Иран, Ирак), то документ подлежит консульской легализации.

Апостиль

Апостиль (от латинского post illa, а затем французского: примечание на полях) – это вид высшего признания документа, необходимый для международного принятия государственных иностранных документов. Он не дает информации о качестве содержания основного документа, но удостоверяет подпись (и правомочность того, кто ее поставил) и правильность печати / штампа на документе, который должен быть заверен. Апостиль необходим при использовании документа в другой стране, например, дипломы, свидетельства о рождении, акты, выписки из регистров, доверенности, свидетельства о браке, свидетельства о рождении, выписки из торгового реестра, выписки из пенитенциарного реестра, приговоры, справки и так далее. Однако на документы частного характера апостиль не проставляется. Рассматриваемая процедура упрощает весь процесс аутентификации документов для использования за границей, что приводит к большему удобству, меньшим затратам и времени обработки для заявителей, но доступно только странам-участницам Гаагской конвенции. На сегодняшний день к ней присоединились свыше 50 стран.

В конвенции отсутствует перечень уполномоченных на апостилирование органов. Страны-участницы определяют их самостоятельно. В Беларуси это три организации: Министерство юстиции, Департамент по архивам и делопроизводству и Министерство иностранных дел. Министерство юстиции апостилирует документы учреждений юстиций и судов, Департамент по архивам и делопроизводству – документы республиканских архивных учреждений, а МИД – все остальные документы.

Стоимость проставления апостиля составляет 0,5 базовой величины. Срок рассмотрения обращения зависит от страны составления документа: если на территории Беларуси – 1 день, а если за пределами страны – 5 дней.

Каждая страна, выдавшая апостиль, обязана вести реестр, в котором записываются дата и номер каждого выданного апостиля, а также информация, касающаяся лица или органа, подписавшего или скрепившего печатью соответствующий публичный документ. Получатели могут связаться с компетентным органом и спросить, соответствует ли информация на апостиле информации в реестре. Контактная информация компетентных органов, включая номера телефонов и информацию о веб-сайте, доступна в разделе апостиля на веб-сайте Гаагской конференции.

Консульская легализация

Если ваш документ был выдан или будет использоваться в стране, где не применяется Гаагская конвенция об апостиле, то необходимо следовать процессу легализации. Консульская легализация подтверждает подлинность подписей должностных лиц на документах и печатей компетентных государственных органов, а также правильность оформления и соответствие национальному законодательству документов, отправленных из одного государства и предназначенных для предъявления в любом другом государстве. Международная легализация – это форма институционализации, способ придания иностранному документу юридической силы. Требования к легализации документа, как правило, содержатся в открытом доступе.

Консульская легализация – сложная многоступенчатая процедура. Её цель – решить практическую проблему: как гражданские и судебные должностные лица могут надежно проверить подлинность документа, выданного за границей. Легализация пытается решить эту дилемму путем создания цепочки верефикаций подлинности, каждая из которых осуществляется все более высоким органом государственной власти, чтобы в конечном итоге сузить точку контакта между странами до одного назначенного должностного лица (обычно в национальном департаменте, отвечающем за иностранные дела). Таким образом, удостоверяя подпись и печать этого последнего должностного лица, иностранная юрисдикция может подтвердить всю цепочку проверок лицу, ответственному за выдачу оригинала документа, без тщательной проверки каждого уровня в отдельности.

Для придания юридической силы документу придется пройти следующие шаги:

  • засвидетельствовать подпись нотариуса и оттиск его печати на удостоверительной надписи на доверенности;
  • обратиться в соответствующий орган за проставлением легализационной надписи;
  • подтвердить в соответствующем органе подлинность печати и подписи должностного лица в легализационной надписи.

Специальная процедура легализации, установленная иными международными соглашениями

Легализация документов не требуется либо в случаях, когда между государствами заключены двусторонние договоры о правовой помощи, либо если они являются участниками международных двусторонних или многосторонних конвенций о правовой помощи, в тексте которых прямо предусмотрена отмена легализации официальных документов для стран-участниц. В этом случае для использования иностранного документа на территории страны-участницы его достаточно перевести на язык этой страны и официально заверить в нотариальном порядке перевод документа нотариусом (если он в достаточной степени обладает знанием соответствующего языка) либо подлинность подписи известного нотариусу переводчика с этого языка.

Перевод иностранных документов на русский или белорусский языки

Осуществлять официальный перевод может человек со знанием языка, на котором составлен документ. Не ограничен перечень уполномоченных на это лиц: переводить можно самостоятельно, обращаться к знакомым, в коммерческие агентства, реестр переводчиков при нотариальных конторах – лавное, чтобы у переводчика был подтверждающий документ. Даже если часть документа на русском или белорусском языке, его все равно необходимо переводить целиком. Под текстом перевода переводчик проставляет запись о том, что он подтверждает достоверность перевода, указывает с какого языка и на какой переведен документ и проставляет подпись. Она заверяется нотариусом в присутствии переводчика с документами, которые подтверждают его квалификацию. Это требование не распространяется на переводчиков из вышеупомянутого нотариального реестра. Если текст переведен самим нотариусом, то он делает отметку о верности перевода.


Фото: apostille-legalizacja.pl