Religion Religion in Belarus

Religion in Belarus

Studying the culture and mentality of Belarusians is impossible without understanding the religious history. That is why we will tell you about the history of origin of religion in Belarus, prevailing religions and the number of believers.

History of origin

Until the 10th century, paganism was the only religion in the Belarusian lands. It is known from chronicles and ethnographic expeditions. At the end of the 10th century, Christianity came from Byzantium, and already in the first half of the 11th century, Sophia Cathedral was built in Polotsk, Novgorod and Kiev. Changes also concern the titles of ruling persons in Kiev and Novgorod. Now they become canonized saints. In the western lands of Belarus, Christianity has long neighbored with paganism. One of the first churches was built in Grodno in the 12-13th centuries.

Картинки по запросу первая церковь в гродно 12-13 в

Picture 1 Photo by Belarus.by

What is the official religion in Belarus?

Belarus is a multi-confessional state. At present, there are 26 confessions in the country. The Constitution of the Republic of Belarus guarantees freedom of religion. Christianity is the dominant religion. Traditionally in Belarus there are Christian (Orthodoxy, Catholicism, Old Belief, Protestantism) and non-Christian (Islam, Hinduism) confessions. Orthodoxy ─ the most common religion, which is the largest and oldest Christian faith in Belarus.

Religions of the Republic of Belarus

Orthodoxy

Orthodoxy is the most widespread religion in Belarus. For example, in 2001, the share of believers belonging to the Russian Orthodox Church was 37% of the total population of Belarus. There are more than a thousand Orthodox churches and monasteries in the country and their number is growing every year.

Many monuments and architectural attractions in Belarus reflect the traditions of Orthodoxy.

Catholicism

Catholicism is the second most popular religious confession in Belarus. According to the Catholic Church, about 15% of the country's population belong to it. As well as the number of Uniates is up to 10 thousand people.

Protestantism

Protestantism came to the territory of Belarus in the 16th century in the form of Luther teachings. For example, in the Prussian Duchy it was approved as the official religion.

Today, over 500 thousand people in Belarus belong to the Protestant denomination.

Judaism

According to Jewish communities, between 30 and 40 thousand citizens of Belarus consider themselves Jews, but the vast majority of Jews in Belarus are not believers. According to the data of the population census, the number of Jews in Belarus is decreasing: if in 1979 there were about 135 thousand of them, then in 2009 their number decreased by 10 times and amounted to 13 thousand people.

Islam

According to the census of Belarus in 2009, the number of Muslims was about 22 thousand people, and in 2014, their number is estimated at 19 thousand, that is, about 0.2% of the population.

Old Believers

In 1791, Old Believers accounted for 4% of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. After the church split in the 17th century, a part of Old Believers moved to that part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, which now forms the Republic of Belarus.

Unregistered religious confessions

The unregistered religious denominations in Belarus include Buddhism, Rodnoverie and the Belarusian Autocephalous Orthodox Church.

There are several unregistered Buddhist communities in Belarus, including Osho, Theravada, Karma Kagyu and others.

In Belarus, paganism has had a certain impact on the Christian ritual, which is manifested in the preservation of some pagan holidays: Dzyadi, Radunitsa, Koliada, Ivan Kupala, seeing off Winter, etc., as well as other pagan holidays. Since the end of the 80s of the 20th century, there has been an increase in the number of people who identified as pagans, and the greatest development had Rodnoverie. But today this movement is not organized in any way and has a natural character.

Also today, there are several religious organizations that position themselves as the Belarusian Autocephalous Orthodox Church, but they operate outside the country.

Number of believers in modern Belarus

According to the Ministry of Belarus in 2015, 59% of the country's population are believers.

Christians

Of 59% of believers in Belarus, 82% are Christians.

Muslims

Today there are about 30 thousand Muslims living in Belarus, 10 thousand of whom live in Minsk.

Jews

According to various estimates, from 800 thousand to 1 million Jews live in Belarus today, but it is difficult to single out the number of believers among them, because the majority do not consider themselves to be of any religion.

Картинки по запросу беларусь церковь

Picture 2 Photo by sobory.ru

Statistics: religion in percentages

In 2011, survey data showed that 93.5% of the population belong to a particular religion:

  • 81% – Orthodox;
  • 10.5% – Catholics;
  • 2% – other religions.

In 2012, another survey was conducted, in which 95.5% of the population identified themselves as believers:

  • 83% – Orthodox;
  • 10% – Catholics;
  • 1.5% – other religions.

Religion and its institutions in modern Belarus

There are over 1000 Orthodox churches in Belarus. The number of churches is increasing every few years. A network of educational institutions is also developing, where representatives of different confessions can receive religious education. These include the Institute of Theology named after Saints Methodius and Kirill. Students here receive theological education, while the rector is Patriarchal Exarch of All Belarus Metropolitan Paul.

The state of Belarus supports the initiative of representatives of various religions, working to prevent the activities of religious sects.

Картинки по запросу беларусь церковь

Picture 3 Photo by Wikipedia.org

Religious holidays

Apart from the Catholic (December 25) and Orthodox (January 7) Christmas, there is also a special religious day in the Republic of Belarus ─ the ninth day after Orthodox Christmas. On this day, the Belarusians visit the graveyards to honor the memory of relatives and close friends.

Belarus has a rich religious history, and religious tourism is very developed. There are plenty of holy places in Belarus, where you can purify your soul and join the holy sources. There are also about 200 sacred springs. The water in such springs is clean, transparent, tasty and has a high content of useful salts and minerals.

Religion Религия в Беларуси

Религия в Беларуси

Изучение культуры и менталитета белорусов невозможно без понимания религиозной истории. Поэтому мы расскажем про историю возникновения религии в Беларуси, господствующие религии и численность верующих.

История возникновения

До 10 века на белорусских землях единственной религией было язычество. О нем известно из летописей и этнографических экспедиций. В конце 10 века из Византии приходит христианство, а уже в первой половине 11 века строят Софийский собор в Полоцке, Новгороде и Киеве. Изменения касаются и титулов правящих лиц в Киеве и Новгороде. Теперь они становятся канонизированными святыми. На западных землях Беларуси христианство долго соседствовало с язычеством. Одна из первых церквей была построена в Гродно в 12-13 веках.

Картинки по запросу первая церковь в гродно 12-13 в

Изображение 1 Фото с сайта Belarus.by

Какая официальная религия в Беларуси?

Беларусь ─ многоконфессиональное государство. В настоящее время в стране существует 26 конфессий. Конституция Республики Беларусь гарантирует свободу вероисповедания. Христианство ─ господствующая религия. Традиционно в Беларуси существуют христианские (православие, католицизм, старообрядчество, протестантизм) и нехристианские (ислам, индуизм) конфессии. Православие ─ самая распространенная религия, которая является крупнейшим и старейшим христианским вероисповеданием Беларуси.

Религии Республики Беларусь

Православие

Православие является самой распространенной религией в Беларуси. К примеру, в 2001 году доля верующих, относящихся к Русской православной церкви составляла 37% от общей численности населения Беларуси. В стране более тысячи православных храмов и монастырей и их количество растет каждый год.

Многие памятники и архитектурные достопримечательности Беларуси отражают традиции православия.

Католицизм

Католицизм – вторая по популярности религиозная конфессия в Беларуси. Согласно данным католической церкви, к ней относятся около 15% населения страны. А также число униатов составляет до 10 тысяч человек.

Протестантизм

Протестантизм на территорию Беларуси пришел в 16 веке в форме учения Лютера. К примеру, в Прусском герцогстве она была утверждена как официальная религия.

Сегодня в Беларуси насчитывают более 500 тысяч человек, которые принадлежат к протестантской конфессии.

Иудаизм

По информации еврейских общин, к евреям себя относят от 30 до 40 тысяч граждан Беларуси, но подавляющее число евреев в Беларуси не являются верующими. По данным переписи населения, число евреев в Беларуси сокращается: если в 1979 году их было около 135 тысяч, то уже в 2009 их число сократилось в 10 раз и насчитывалось до 13 тысяч человек.

Ислам

По данным переписи населения Беларуси в 2009 году число мусульман составляло около 22 тысяч человек, а в 2014 году их количество оценивается в 19 тысяч, то есть около 0,2% населения.

Старообрядчество

В 1791 году старообрядцы составляли 4% всего Великого Княжества Литовского. После церковного раскола в 17 веке часть староверов переселилась в ту часть Великого Княжества Литовского, которое в настоящее время образует Республику Беларусь.

Незарегистрированные религиозные конфессии

К незарегистрированным религиозным конфессиям в Республике Беларусь относятся Буддизм, Родноверие и Белорусская автокефальная православная церковь.

В Беларуси действует несколько незарегистрированных буддистских общин различных направлений, среди которых Ошо, Тхеравада, Карма-кагью и другие.

На территории Беларуси язычество оказало определенное влияние на христианскую обрядность, что проявилось в сохранении некоторых языческих праздников: Дзяды, Радуница, Коляда, Иван Купала, проводы Зимы и тд. С конца 80-х годов 20 века наблюдался рост числа людей, которые идентифицировали себя как язычники, а наибольшее развитие у них получило Родноверие. Но сегодня это движение никак не организовано и имеет стихийных характер.

Также сегодня существует несколько религиозных организаций, которые позиционируют себя в качестве Белорусской автокефальной православной церкви, однако они действуют за пределами страны.

Численность верующих в современной Беларуси

По данным Министерства Беларуси за 2015 год, верующими себя считают 59% населения страны.

Христиане

Из 59% верующих в Беларуси насчитывается 82% христиан.

Мусульмане

Сегодня в Беларуси проживает около 30 тысяч мусульман, из них 10 тысяч проживают в Минске.

Евреи

По разным оценкам сегодня в Беларуси проживает от 800 тысяч до 1 миллиона евреев, однако количество верующих среди них выделить сложно, потому что большинство не относят себя ни к одной из религий.

Картинки по запросу беларусь церковь

Изображение 2 Фото с сайта sobory.ru

Статистика: религия в процентах

В 2011 году данные опроса показали, что 93,5% населения отнесли себя к той или иной религии:

  • 81% – православные;
  • 10,5% – католики;
  • 2% – другие религии.

В 2012 году был проведен еще один опрос, в котором уже 95,5% населения отнесли себя к верующим:

  • 83% – православные;
  • 10% – католики;
  • 1,5% – другие религии.

Религия и ее институты в современной Беларуси

В Беларуси более 1000 православных храмов. Количество церквей увеличивается каждые несколько лет. Также развивается сеть учебных заведений, в которых представители разных конфессий могут получать религиозное образование. В их число входит Институт теологии имени святых Мефодия и Кирилла. Студенты здесь получают богословское образование, а ректором является Патриарший Экзарх всея Беларуси митрополит Павел.

Государство Беларуси поддерживает инициативу представителей различных религий, ведется работа по предотвращению деятельности религиозных сект.

Картинки по запросу беларусь церковь

Изображение 3 Фото с сайта Wikipedia.org

Религиозные праздники

Кроме Католического (25 декабря) и православного (7 января) рождества, также в Республике Беларусь есть особый религиозный день ─ девятый день после православного Рождества. В этот день белорусы посещают кладбища, чтобы почтить память родственников и близких друзей.

У Беларуси богатая религиозная история, а религиозный туризм очень развит. В республике достаточно много святых мест, где можно очистить душу и приобщиться к святым источникам. Здесь также насчитывается около 200 священных источников. Вода в таких источниках чистая, прозрачная, вкусная, имеет высокое содержание полезных солей и минералов.