Crypto_business_in_Belarus Crypto business in Belarus

Crypto business in Belarus

The legal system of the cryptocurrency regulation began to operate in Belarus from March 2018, with the entry into force of the Presidential Decree No. 8 of December 2, 2017 “On the Development of the Digital Economy”. The technology of transactions (blockchain) was introduced into the economy, and the cryptocurrency was defined as bitcoin, another digital sign (token) used in international circulation as a universal means of exchange. In October 2018, the Hi-Tech Park adopted the legal acts specifying the provisions of the Decree.

In the sphere of cryptocurrency circulation in Belarus it is possible to carry out:

activity of the operator of crypto platform – providing the ability to make transactions using the information system to legal entities and individuals, including non-residents of Belarus, both among themselves and with the operator: this is organization of bidding (disposal, purchase of cryptocurrency for Belarusian rubles, foreign currency, electronic money; exchange of cryptocurrency), organization and transactions on cryptocurrency placement; transactions with cryptocurrency outside its trading system; transactions with cryptocurrency in the interests of clients on the basis of intermediary agreements; other transactions;

activity of the cryptocurrency exchange operator is the exchange of one cryptocurrency type for another cryptocurrency type, its purchase, sale for Belarusian rubles, foreign currency, electronic money and it is carried out using cryptomats – the information systems and (or) software and hardware systems operating in self-service mode. (Unlike the operator of the crypto platform, it is carried out solely in its own interest, on its own behalf);

activity of the ICO organizer is the provision of services related to the creation and placement of digital signs on the Internet, their promotion, consulting and other related services;

– other activities, including containing signs of professional and exchange activity on securities, activity of the investment fund, securitization.

These activities are not banking activities. Until January 1, 2023, the residents of the HTP are completely exempt from taxation of cryptocurrency transactions.

The residence in the HTP is a condition of implementation of activities. This requires creating a legal entity (hereinafter – LE), to submit to the HTP Administration a business project and documents confirming compliance with the requirements, one of which is the auditors’ report “The Big Four”: PricewaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu, Ernst & Young, KPMG. In the subsequent the audit is carried out by one of them at least once a year.

Requirements for the implementation of crypto business are as follows:
Financial stability
The operators of crypto platforms are obliged to ensure the availability of funds in the amount of at least 1 million Belarusian rubles in the accounts of the banks of Belarus; cryptocurrency exchange operators – at least 200 thousand Belarusian rubles; ICO operators – at least 500 thousand Belarusian rubles.

Cybersecurity
It should be applied the international measures to combat money-laundering (AML), combating financing of terrorism (SFT) by identifying and verifying the customers, conducting financial transactions (KYC –“know your client”, for example through Web-ID); it is carried out regularly check the sources of cryptocurrency by tracking chains of transactions using software of the companies Elliptic, Chainalysis, Coinfirm (United Kingdom); Neutrino (Italy) or more efficient; work risks assessment with clients by a client profile, geographical region and types of operations with the possibility of freezing funds, blocking a financial transaction or refusal (for example, with full anonymization); sending information about such operations to the Financial Monitoring Department of the State Control Committee; it should be developed an appropriate policy, appointed a responsible person, checked the knowledge of the employees.

Protecting personal data
It should be developed technical, program and organizational measures (rules for handling personal data, application of information security tools, identification of responsible persons, restriction of the number of persons having access to the system) which corresponds to the level of the European regulation of the GDPR.

Requirements for investors and key employees
Absence of a criminal record for economic crimes and crimes against information security; absence of a court decision on the implementation of actions that led to bankruptcy within three years; absence of termination of the employment contract on guilty grounds within two years. Investors should also not be in arrears in payments to the budget of Belarus and the country of residence; in case of ownership of 10% shares of the HTP resident is not under sanctions of the UN Security Council; they must disclose information on the results of court sessions with their participation for three years.
It is compulsory to have the position of AML compliance officer in the organization.

Individuals in the cryptosphere have the right:
– to own digital signs, store them in virtual wallets, give and bequeath;
– to exchange, purchase, alienation for Belarusian rubles, foreign currency, electronic money;
– to carry out mining – to become the owner of digital signs that have arisen (produced) as a result of its activities and receive digital signs as a reward for verification of transactions in blockchain. This type of activity is not entrepreneurial.
Individuals are fully exempt from cryptocurrency taxation until January 1, 2023.

Thus, Belarus is the first country in the world that has legally regulated activities in the field of cryptocurrency. The legitimacy of the cryptocurrency business, developed infrastructure in the form of the High-Tech Park and one of the world’s best IT communities make this area very attractive for investment.

Crypto_business_in_Belarus Криптобизнес в Беларуси

Криптобизнес в Беларуси

Правовая система регулирования криптовалюты стала действовать Беларуси с марта 2018 г., со вступлением в силу Декрета Президента от 2 декабря 2017 г. № 8 «О развитии цифровой экономики». В экономику была внедрена технология реестра блоков транзакций (блокчейн), а криптовалюта определена как биткойн, иной цифровой знак (токен), используемый в международном обороте в качестве универсального средства обмена. В октябре 2018 г. Парком высоких технологий были приняты правовые акты, конкретизирующие нормы Декрета.

В сфере обращения криптовалюты в Беларуси возможно осуществлять:

деятельность оператора криптоплатформы – предоставление возможности совершать сделки с использованием информационной системы юридическим и физическим лицам, в том числе нерезидентам Беларуси, как между собой, так и с оператором: это организация торов (отчуждение, приобретение криптовалюты за белорусские рубли, иностранную валюту, электронные деньги; обмен криптовалюты), организация и совершение сделок по размещению криптовалюты; совершение сделок с криптовалютой вне своей торговой системы; совершение сделок с криптовалютой в интересах клиентов на основе посреднических договоров; иные сделки;

деятельность оператора обмена криптовалют - осуществление обмена криптовалюты одного вида на криптовалюту другого вида, ее покупку, продажу за белорусские рубли, иностранную валюту, электронные деньги и осуществляется с использованием криптоматов - информационных систем и (или) программно-технических комплексов, работающих в режиме самообслуживания. (В отличие от оператора криптоплатформы, осуществляется исключительно в своем интересе, от собственного имени)

деятельность организатора ICO - оказание услуг, связанных с созданием и размещением цифровых знаков в сети Интернет, их продвижение, консультационные и иные сопутствующие услуги;

иную деятельность, в том числе содержащую признаки профессиональной и биржевой деятельности по ценным бумагам, деятельности инвестиционного фонда, секьюритизации.

Данные виды деятельности не являются банковской деятельностью. До 1 января 2023 г. резиденты ПВТ полностью освобождаются от налогообложения операций с криптовалютой.

Условием осуществления деятельности является резидентство в ПВТ. Для этого необходимо создать юридическое лицо (далее – ЮЛ), представить в администрацию ПВТ бизнес-проект и документы, подтверждающие соответствие требованиям, одним из которых является отчет аудиторов «Большой четверки»: PricewaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu, Ernst & Young, KPMG. В последующем аудит проводится одним из них не реже раза в год.

Требования к осуществлению криптобизнеса в Республике Беларусь следующие:

- финансовая устойчивость;

- операторы криптоплатформ обязаны обеспечивать наличие на счетах в банках Беларуси денежных средств в размере не менее 1 млн. белорусских рублей; операторы обмена криптовалют - не менее 200 тыс. белорусских рублей; операторы ICO – не менее 500 тыс. белорусских рублей;

- кибербезопасность;

Должны применяться международные меры по борьбе с отмыванием денег (AML), борьбы с финансированием терроризма (SFT) путем идентификации и верификацию клиентов, осуществляющих финансовые операции (KYC –«know your client», например через Web-ID); проводится регулярная проверка источников криптовалюты путем отслеживания цепочек транзакций с использованием программного обеспечения компаний Elliptic, Chainalysis, Coinfirm (Великобритания); Neutrino (Италия) или более эффективного; оценка рисков работы с клиентами по профилю клиента, географическому региону и видам операций с возможностью замораживания средств, блокирования финансовой операции или отказа (например при полной анонимизации); направление сведений о таких операциях в Департамент финансового мониторинга Комитета государственного контроля; должна быть разработана соответствующая политика, назначено ответственное лицо, проводится, проверка знаний сотрудников.

- защита персональных данных

Должны быть разработаны технические, программные и организационные меры (правила обращения с персональными данными, применение средств защиты информации, определение ответственных лиц, ограничение круга лиц, имеющих доступ к системе), что соответствует уровню европейского регламента GDPR.

Требования к инвесторам и основным сотрудникам

Отсутствие судимости за экономические преступления и преступления против информационной безопасности; отсутствие решения суда об осуществлении действий, повлекших банкротство в течение трех лет; отсутствие факта расторжения трудового договора по виновным основаниям в течение двух лет. Инвесторы также не должны иметь задолженности по платежам в бюджет Беларуси и страны резиденства. Обязательным является наличие в организации должности AML compliance officer.

Физические лица (ФЛ) в криптосфере вправе:

владеть цифровыми знаками, хранить их в виртуальных кошельках, дарить и завещать;

осуществлять обмен, приобретение, отчуждение за белорусские рубли, иностранную валюту, электронные деньги;

осуществлять майнинг - становится владельцем цифровых знаков, возникших (добытых) в результате его деятельности и получать цифровые знаки в качестве вознаграждения за верификацию совершения операций в блокчейне. Такая деятельность не является предпринимательской.

ФЛ полностью освобождаются от налогообложения криптовалют до 1 января 2023 г.

Таким образом, Беларусь является первой страной в мире, которая законодательно уреулировала деятельность в сфере криптовалюты. Легитимность криптовалютного бизнеса,  развитая инфраструктура в виде Парка высоких технологий и одно из лучших мировых IT-сообществ делают данную сферу весьма привлекательной для инвестиций.