This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Cookie policy
Gomel State Technical University named after P.O. Sukhoi
Gomel State Technical University named after P.O. Sukhoi


Gomel Technical University is one of the leading technical universities of the Republic of Belarus and provides training for engineers and personnel of the highest scientific qualifications for industries such as engineering, metallurgy, energy, economics, radio electronics and information technology.

GSTU named after P.O. Sukhoi takes part in the implementation of republican and interuniversity scientific and technical programs, actively cooperates in the field of education and science with the Center for Theoretical Physics named after Abdus Salam (Trieste, Italy), the Universities of Trieste and Padua, the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (Dubna), the Institute of Low Temperatures and Structural Studies of the Polish Academy of Sciences (Wroclaw), the National Technical University of Ukraine “Kyiv Polytechnic Institute” and a number of other foreign institutions and educational institutions.

The university was founded in 1968 as the general technical faculty of the Belarusian Order of the Red Banner of Labor at the Polytechnic Institute at the Gomselmash Production Association. Since 1973, the Gomel branch of the Belarusian Polytechnic Institute (now the Belarusian National Technical University). Since 1981, the Gomel Polytechnic Institute. In 1995, the institute was named after the outstanding aircraft designer Pavel Osipovich Sukhoi, in 1998 it was transformed into a university and received its current name.
Specialists are trained in 21 specialties.

In 2014, Expert RA agency assigned the university a rating class of “D” meaning an “acceptable level” of graduate training.

In 2019, P.O.Sukhogo Gomel State Technical University prepares masters in technical and economic sciences in the following specialties:

"Innovative technologies in mechanical engineering"
"Electronic systems and technologies"
“Informatics and programming technologies”
"Innovative technologies in metallurgy"
"Power Engineering and Electrical Engineering"
"Heat and Power Engineering"