This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Cookie policy
Belarusian National Technical University
Belarusian National Technical University


The Belarusian National Technical University (BNTU) is the leading engineering and technical university in Belarus, which trains specialists for all sectors of the national economy. Education at BNTU is closely related to production activities. Students have at their disposal a repository of BNTU (official website), where relevant scientific materials are posted.

Passing points at the BNTU are elevating, so getting a goal for an aspiring applicant can be included in the lists of enrolled BNTUs (see the official website). The most popular among applicants are such faculties of BNTU as architecture, the faculty of information technology and robotics, the faculty of marketing, management and entrepreneurship. This is indicated by high grades in comparison with other faculties.

The large and complex tasks of restoring the economy of the BSSR in the 20s of the 20th century required the training of highly qualified personnel for all sectors of the national economy, and therefore, on December 10, 1920, the Minsk Polytechnic School (technical school) was transformed into a higher technical educational institution: Belarusian State Polytechnic Institute (BSPI), the aim of which was to train engineers with higher education in the main areas of state production.

Initially, the institute had 6 special departments: mechanical, engineering, cultural, technical, chemical technician, electrical, forestry. According to other sources, five faculties recruited students: mechanical, engineering, cultural, technical, chemical-technological, and electrical.

The first rector was appointed Nikanor Kazimirovich Yaroshevich. The teaching staff totaled 56 people. In the first academic year, 305 students and 119 students of the preparatory department studied at the institute (61% of Belarusians, 38% of Jews; 92.9% of men, 7.1% of women). In the future, after a series of reorganizations on July 1, 1933, the Council of People's Commissars of the BSSR decided to restore the Polytechnic Institute, in which in September 1933 there were already 120 teachers and 20 departments, as well as about 1,200 students.

In the early 1940s, the institute became one of the leading technical universities in the USSR. At 32 departments of four faculties, engineers were trained in seven specialties. The number of teachers increased to 180, including 19 professors and 71 associate professors. For 1933-1941 about 2,000 engineers were trained.

After the sovereignty of the Republic of Belarus was declared, in 1991 - the Belarusian Order of the Red Banner of Labor the Polytechnic Institute was transformed into the Belarusian State Polytechnical Academy (BSPA) (Decree of the Council of Ministers of the Belarusian SSR dated April 17, 1991 No. 149), and in 1997 - the Belarusian State Polytechnical Academy received the status of a leading engineering and technical educational institution in the national education system of the Republic of Belarus (Decree of the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Belarus of 17 issued January 1997 № 6).

In 2002, the Belarusian State Polytechnical Academy was transformed into the Belarusian National Technical University (BNTU) (Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus No. 165 of April 1, 2002), after which in 2005 it was decided to give the university the status of the basic organization of the member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States on higher technical education (Decision of the Council of Heads of Government of the Commonwealth of Independent States of November 25, 2005).

In 2014, the Minsk State Polytechnic College was transferred to the structure of BNTU as a branch.

In 2014, Expert RA agency assigned the university a rating class of "C" meaning "high level" of graduate training.

According to the rating of the Ministry of Education of the Republic of Belarus takes the second place. According to Webometrics, it is located on the 3060th line of educational institutions around the world.

The complex of buildings of BNTU is included in the state list of historical and cultural values ​​of the Republic of Belarus.

Faculty of Automotive Engineering
Faculty of Architecture
Faculty of Military Technology
Faculty of Engineering and Education
Faculty of Engineering
International Institute of Distance Education
Faculty of Mechanics and Technology
Faculty of Instrument Engineering
Faculty of Sports and Technology
Faculty of Civil Engineering
Faculty of Mining and Environmental Engineering
Faculty of Information Technology and Robotics
Faculty of Marketing, Management, Entrepreneurship
Faculty of Management and Humanitarian Technologies
Faculty of Transport Communications
Faculty of Energy Construction
BNTU branch in the city of Soligorsk
Department of Energy