This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Cookie policy

In Sweden our country officially changed its name from Vitryssland to Belarus

In 1991, our country, declaring independence and leaving the USSR, changed its name from the BSSR (in Swedish — Vitryssland, which literally means "White Russia" or "Belarusia") to Belarus. But in Sweden Belarus was still called Vitryssland. In 2015, the Swedish foreign Ministry agreed to enter the new name Belarus into the official list of country names, but only as a note with the original Vitryssland, reports.